Round and round

Blogging out the cutting-edge stuff

Why Ubuntu… NOT! June 26, 2007

Filed under: Technical — eo @ 9:52 pm

This day I was reading the four reasons to avoid Ubuntu entry and I thought the reasons were not good enough so I would come up with my 4.

4. It doesn’t support most of the good software. Let’s face it. GIMP is nowhere near as easy or as good as Photoshop (its only advantage is that it’s free). Open Office just is bad and noone uses it anyway. I’m not talking about itunes.

3. The graphical interface sucks. I mean, the default one. I know, it just takes up one CD, but come on. I booted my life CD and all I could say was “What the hell is that?”. Nowhere near the “Wow” effect of Macs. Or Vista.

2. No devices ever work on it. You have to work your ass off and waste like 4 hours to make the damn printer… PRINT! And only if you’re lucky. I’m not talking about all the MP3 players, cameras, whatever.

1. This was a tough one. I mean, there are so many annoying things about it and I didn’t even know what was the worst one. I haven’t seen this on any other lists so I’ll use this. It’s too techy! Do I really have to go through this whole tar -xzvf (-xzvf, what the hell does that mean? Couldn’t they make it just tar because EVERYONE uses -xzvf), then compile make make install what the hell. Some software can be installed earlier, but still. I can’t even browse files normally as this kick-ass file manager is too complicated.

I can do most of this stuff, however, I have had some experience with Linux. Think about the beginners. Still wondering why noone uses Ubuntu?

Well, MS ain’t perfect either, tho…

 

9 Responses to “Why Ubuntu… NOT!”

  1. Len Sandy Says:

    Some responses:
    4. OpenOffice is working well for me. And thousands (perhaps millions?) of people depend on it daily. Sure, Microsoft has 95 percent share of the office suite market. But OpenOffice is a viable alternative for most users — assuming you haven’t built business-specific modules for your own Office deployments.
    3. The Ubuntu graphical user interface I use, GNOME, is simple to navigate. Who needs Vista’s 3D interface when it requires 2GB of RAM just to get going at a decent speed?
    2. Selected — though not all — devices work with Ubuntu. That’s why I purchased Ubuntu pre-installed on my PC, because I knew all of the system components and drives would work with Ubuntu.
    1. It’s not too techy. I am ahead of the curve, generally speaking, but I’m not a tech guru. I don’t open, repair or build PCs for a living. I hate installing operating systems. I just want to work on my PC. And Ubuntu — preinstalled in my case — is a good fit for that.

  2. Martin Says:

    4. This user is not ready to use or understand Gimp, which is a more powerful and well crafted graphics editor that photoshop.
    3. This user is not ready to use good graphical user interfaces, has not tried kde or any other DE and he just sucks.
    2. This users devices suck, the makers of the devices suck and he sucks for buying them in the first place; it’s not his god given right to have them work.
    1. tar ‘extract’ ‘gz compression’ ‘verbose’ ‘force’ – the user is not ready to use a manual page to figure out why options are required for tar. tar -cjvf / tar -ca / tar -xjvf.
    0. This user is not readdy for ubuntu or the real world of facts, injects emotive language and opinion into his blog and is very biased.

    User Class: Dullard

  3. teksht Says:

    Thanks for your input. My responses to that:

    4. OpenOffice isn’t as easy to use as say MS Word, and it requires a lot more time to get used to. Especially when MS Office 2007 is released. I don’t even think this is debatable.
    I can understand it, though. MS invests millions of dollars in the development of MS Office and OpenOffice has nothing compared to that.

    I need results, however.
    3. Because if I have 2 GB of RAM I want to actually use it.
    And why wouldn’t I want my OS to look cool if I have that opportunity.
    1. I have like 4 friends myself, who have tried Linux on their PCs and then switched back to Windows. I wasn’t surprised. Linux is kinda making things harder than they should be.

    But still, I’m glad that it works for you. From my experience, this is not the case for many people, though.

  4. teksht Says:

    Martin, I wouldn’t even need to respond to that. But whatever.

    4. This user is not ready to use or understand Gimp, which is a more powerful and well crafted graphics editor that photoshop.

    Gimp is nowhere near as good as Photoshop. It can’t do most of the things Photoshop can. GIMP is hard.

    I think I even read some GIMP developer admit it.

    To talk about stupidity, that’s a good way to help describe somebody who intentionally does things the harder way…

    3. This user is not ready to use good graphical user interfaces, has not tried kde or any other DE and he just sucks.

    The default one is the most important graphical interface anyway. It’s like someone selling a rotten car and saying “Well, you can respray it”.

    And all the other interfaces still do not look as good as, say, OS X.

    2. This users devices suck, the makers of the devices suck and he sucks for buying them in the first place; it’s not his god given right to have them work.

    So, everything sucks. Ubuntu included.

    1. tar ‘extract’ ‘gz compression’ ‘verbose’ ‘force’ – the user is not ready to use a manual page to figure out why options are required for tar. tar -cjvf / tar -ca / tar -xjvf.

    What the hell.
    If it was tar -zmxncbvalskdjfhgh and I still had to remember it, even though there was a good reason for that, I would still say it’s stupid. Because it is.

    90% of the time it’s -xzvf so that should be default.

    0. This user is not readdy for ubuntu or the real world of facts, injects emotive language and opinion into his blog and is very biased.

    Then friggin’ go back to your real world of facts.
    (Hope that’s biased enough).

  5. Horace Willis Says:

    4. For me Gimp is far better than Photoshop for a very very simple reason. I do only the most basic things as far as image editing goes and it’s perfect for that and best of all it’s free. I just can’t justify spending hundreds of dollars on a program when all I’m going to be using is the most basic features. I have both Office and OpenOffice. The last two times I wiped and reinstalled my system I didn’t even bother to install office. I did install OpenOffice. I prefer it for a couple of reasons. I dual multiboot between Windows, Ubuntu and whatever other distros I’m playing with at the time. I can have the same app on all of them. That means no matter what I’m running I know how it works because it’s the same thing. Also OpenOffice is free and considering I spend more time using a text editor than I do using a word processor I can’t justify the expense of MS Office. I can’t speak for Itunes because I don’t use it. I have a good collection of music that I’ve ripped and it’s all I care about. I’m not really interested in anything new coming out. I’m a classic rock fan and for the most part if it came out after 1981 I’m not interested.

    3. I like the interface although I do prefer KDE. Either way it’s not that hard to install a few plugins and get all kind of really neat effects via Compiz. Overall though I prefer a very simple desktop without all the garbage.

    2. I’ve installed various versions of Linux on several different computers both in my own home and at several friends houses. I have yet to find a piece of hardware that doesn’t work with the latest version of Ubuntu. Not saying that their isn’t any but my experience is that it is highly compatible. I’ve got a laser printer right now that is on the network because it’s hooked up to my server which runs Linux. The list of printers that CUPS supports is VERY VERY long. Many more are supported than aren’t supported. Now a caveat. Although this has not been my policy in the past it is now my policy to NOT buy any hardware that doesn’t support Linux.

    1. I think you must have overlooked the graphical archive manager. No need to bother with all that. It’s probably closer to WinRar than WinZip but that is ok because I use WinRar rather than WinZip so I’m comfortable with how it works as it’s familiar.

  6. teksht Says:

    Ok, Horace, thanks for the comment too.

    * I just couldn’t say I found GIMP easy to do simple things. Like, I had to spend quite some time to find out how to add a border to an image (without a search in Google). Or draw a rectangle. And all that stuff.
    * The interfaces are still not as good or they need a hell lot of tweaking to make them better. From my experience.
    * I have had problems with my printer, my mp3 player (wasn’t able to solve that…). And know a lot of people having had similar problems. Dunno.
    * It’s not only about tar. My whole point was that one still has to use the command line (well, I do) and in many cases the command line can be complicated, especially for the inexperienced users.

    Well, I guess, people need different things. 🙂

  7. Henrik Says:

    I have just changed 3 computeres in our house to Ubuntu. And i must say it is very easy, it makes the computer works a lot faster. So instead of buying 3 new computers we can use the old ones for another year or 2. I have not found one thing that Ubuntu dosent “talk” to, printer, wireless, mp3 or camera.
    And if i got a problem i post it on Ubuntu forum and get a quick reply, that was very useful. If i had a problem with windows before i could only get surpot the first 3 month and after that i was left to my self and wellmeaning friends. I dont know if i am the only one but on one computer the harddisk went from 17,2 GB to 36,4 GB after i installed Ubuntu!

    Ubuntu ti all
    Henrik

  8. Rey Angeles Says:

    Well I don’t think I can agree with any of the bullshit you have said and replied to. Ok GIMP is no Photshop but for doing the basics is great, I use to be a Wincrap user for a long time then I made the switch sure it took a bit to get use to it but it’s like going from wincrap to a mac. So Gimp is great if you know how to use photoshop I’m a web Developer/Designer so trust me I know. Ubuntu’s desktop is great and all this tar BS you are talking about is nonsense I can use right-click function such as extreact to do this just like windows. also as far as Office 2007, well go ahead ans spend that money and be locked in to DRM and all other kinds of BS. OpenOffice is great works just the same as Office 2003 and in someways better. iTunes again if you like DRM(Digital Rights Management) then good for you sucka! To recap Ubuntu is great for beginners and experts alike, no worries about spyware,viruses and trojans, no DRM, Free Apps all around and a great community for support. So you can pass on that we don’t need you in our community since you are not willing to learn new things there for you are a common windows user good luck.

  9. teksht Says:

    Rey Angeles, there are countless examples and if some stupid piece of software, that everyone else hates, works for you, doesn’t mean it’s good.

    To talk from experience, here are two examples:
    Like at least 5 people I know have tried switching to Ubuntu. Shortly after, all 5 switched back to Windows.
    Heard of the case: one has tried using Ubuntu from the time he got a PC. One month after that, he switched to Windows.

    Windows is easier for the most part of people. And the most part of people does not include those, that don’t have a life (sorry, Mr. Geek).


Leave a Reply

